Noxious and Invasive Weeds

The Bremer County IRVM program is responsible for upholding the Iowa Weed Law (Chapter 317, code of Iowa). The Iowa Weed Law defines noxious weeds as:

Primary noxious weeds

  • quack grass (Agropyron repens)
  • perennial sow thistle (Sonchus arvensis)
  • Canada thistle (Cirsium arvense)
  • bull thistle (Cirsium lanceolatum)
  • European morning glory/field bindweed (Convolvulus      arvensis)
  • horse nettle (Solanum carolinense)
  • leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula)
  • perennial pepper-grass (Lepidium draba)
  • Russian knapweed (Centaurea repens)
  • buckthorn (Rhamnus, not to include Rhamnus frangula)
  • all other species of thistles belonging in genera of      Cirsium and Carduus
  • Palmer amaranth (Amaranthus palmeria)

Secondary noxious weeds

  • butterprint (Abutilon theophrasti) annual
  • cocklebur (Xanthium commune) annual
  • wild mustard (Brassica arvensis) annual
  • wild carrot (Daucus carota) biennial
  • buckhorn (Plantago lanceolata) perennial
  • sheep sorrel (Rumex acetosella) perennial
  • sour dock (Rumex crispus) perennial
  • smooth dock (Rumex altissimus) perennial
  • poison hemlock (Conium maculatum)
  • multiflora rose (Rosa multiflora)
  • wild sunflower (wild strain of Helianthus annus L.)      annual
  • puncture vine (Tribulus terrestris) annual
  • teasel (Dipsacus) biennial
  • shattercane (Sorghum bicolor) annual

For identification assistance, please visit:

For a full copy of the current Iowa Weed Law, please visit:

Every county in Iowa has a weed commissioner to oversee that County’s noxious weed control program. The Bremer County Weed Commissioner is located at the Roadside Vegetation Management Dept., 1995 Euclid Ave., Waverly, IA 50677. Phone (319) 559-0559. Email: