Residents of Bremer County are hereby notified that the Bremer County Temporary Redistricting Commission will hold a Public Hearing on November 22, 2021 at 8:00 a.m. in the First Floor Meeting Room in the Bremer County Courthouse, 415 E. Bremer Ave., Waverly, IA. The purpose of the hearing will be to gather comments on the preliminary proposed precinct plan resulting from the 2020 Census.  Members of the public may offer oral or written comments prior to and at the Public Hearing.  Members of the public are allowed to present an alternative plan.

Precinct Requirements

            Bremer County is a Plan Three County. In Plan Three Counties the board of supervisors is elected by supervisor district and the supervisors must live in the supervisor districts. The supervisors must establish a temporary redistricting commission which will draw precinct boundaries. The Legislative Service Agency will draw supervisor district boundaries.       

All precincts in all counties in Iowa must meet the following standards:

  • Precinct population cannot exceed 3,500
  • Precinct must lie within one legislative district
  • Composed of contiguous territory
  • Follow census block boundaries
  • Townships as precincts
  • Each township that does not include any part of a city with a population over 2,000
  • The unincorporated portion of any township, containing a city with a population over 2,000
  • If townships are divided into more than one precinct, the sections must be reasonably equal in population.
  • Exclude city annexed territory

Bremer County Proposed Precinct Legal Descriptions:

  • Polk Township, City of Plainfield
  • Douglas Township, Frederika Township, LeRoy Township, City of Frederika
  • Sumner #2 Township, Dayton Township, City of Sumner
  • Fremont Township, Warren Township, City of Tripoli
  • LaFayette Township except portion in City of Waverly and the NE ¼ of Sec 36 (Census Blocks 1018 & 1019)
  • Washington Township except portion in City of Waverly and except the NE ¼ of Sec 36 (Census Blocks 1018 & 1019)
  • Jackson Township, City of Janesville
  • Jefferson Township
  • City of Denver
  • Maxfield Township, Franklin Township. City of Readlyn

Population of each Precinct:

Polk Twp, City of Plainfield -- 876

Douglas Twp, Frederika Twp, LeRoy Twp, City of Frederika -- 872

Sumner #2 Twp, Dayton Twp, City of Sumner -- 2681

Fremont Twp, Warren Twp, City of Tripoli -- 2141

LaFayette Twp and the NE ¼ of Sec 36 Washington Twp (Census Blocks 1018 & 1019) -- 664

Washington Twp except the NE ¼ of Sec 36 (Census Blocks 1018 & 1019) -- 637

Jackson Twp, City of Janesville -- 1634

Jefferson Twp -- 1460

City of Denver -- 1919

Maxfield Twp, Franklin Twp, City of Readlyn -- 1710

Copies of the legal descriptions of the plans, maps illustrating the plans, a summary of the standards prescribed by law for development of the plans and a statement of the population of each precinct are available at the Courthouse, 415 E. Bremer Ave, Waverly, IA, in the GIS & Auditor’s Office and also online under “Latest News” at