The Bremer County Sheriff’s Office processes and issues permits during normal business hours of Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Applications are accepted in person or through the mail.
Weapons permits will be accepted in office or by mail. Please include the following if applying my mail:
- Completed application
- Driver’s License/photo I.D. showing Bremer County address
- Training certificate or DD214 (when applying for a new nonprofessional permit)
- Payment (Checks payable to Bremer County Sheriff's Office)
111 4th St NE
Waverly, IA 50677
**Cash in the exact amount of the permit fee is required or checks are accepted**
**The State of Iowa has taken over the printing of all permit cards. Permits will be mailed to you within 7-10 business days. Any permit not received after 21 business days, please contact the Sheriff's Office.
Renewal Application $25.00
- Applications must be filed within a 60 day window, beginning 30 days prior to the expiration date or 30 days past the expiration date of a current permit to be eligible for the statutory $25.00 renewal fee.
- There is no requirement for additional training.
- Applicants who have moved to a different county are able to renew their permit in their new county of residence within the 60 day window. They will need to provide an updated driver’s license showing Bremer County address, permit from previous county, and approved training documentation.
Training requirements for new applicants who held a permit after Jan 1, 2011 but are outside the renewal period:
- Applicant will need to apply for a new permit
- Applicant is not required to present proof of additional training
New Application $50.00
Training requirements for new applicants who have never held a permit or held a permit issued prior to Jan 1, 2011:
- Applicant must show completion of training within a 24 month period before the application date.
- Completion of any National Rifle Association (NRA) handgun safety training course.
- Completion of any handgun safety training course available to the general public offered by law enforcement agency, community college, college, public or private institution, or firearms training school, utilizing instructors certified by the NRA or certain other firearms training certifying bodies, such as the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy.
- Completion of any handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division of law or security enforcement approved by Iowa Department of Public Safety.
- If former member of Armed Forces, completion of small arms training while serving with the armed forces of the United States with honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions (at any time prior to application)
- If current member of Armed Forces, possession of a certificate of completion of basic training with a service record of successful completion of small arms training and qualification
- Completion of a hunter education program approved by the natural resource commission pursuant to section 483A.27, if the program includes handgun safety training and completion of the handgun safety training is included on the certificate of completion.
Permit to Acquire a Pistol/Revolver $25.00
Any person who desires to acquire ownership of any pistol or revolver shall first obtain an annual permit.
Application procedures for an Iowa permit to acquire pistols/revolvers:
- Submit a fully and accurately completed and signed application.
- Submit a copy of an Iowa driver’s license or non-operator’s identification card , containing a Bremer County address.
Click HERE for Application to Carry Pistols/Revolvers.
Click HERE for information to Carry weapons.
Firearms Permit Fees:
|Permit to Acquire||$25.00|
|Permit to Carry Professional (New)||$50.00|
|Permit to Carry Professional (Renewal)||$25.00|
| Permit to Carry Non-Professional (New)
*Reminder: The Non-Professional Permit to Carry allows you to purchase.
|Permit to Carry Non-Professional (Renewal)||$25.00|
Bremer County Sheriff's Office
111 4th St NE
Waverly, IA 50677
319-352-5400 opt 5